European Commission adds 8 more chemicals to the list of substances subject to prior approval (Authorisation)

Eight more substances of very high concern (SVHC) have been added to the REACH Authorisation list, following a decision adopted by the European Commission on 14 February 2012.   The substances, with uses including plasticisers, pigments and  glass manufacture, are

  • diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP)
  • diarsenic trioxide
  • diarsenic pentaoxide
  • lead chromate,
  • lead sulfochromate yellow (C.I. Pigment Yellow 34),
  • lead chromate molybdate sulphate red (C.I. Pigment Red 104)
  • tris (2-chloroethyl) phosphate (TCEP)
  • 2,4-dinitrotoluene (2,4-DNT).

After the date specified in the new Regulation, the use of these 8 substances must stop unless an authorisation has been granted by the European Commission.

Any company using these chemicals is advised to consider substituting the chemicals for alternatives at this stage.  Those who use the chemicals are also advised to speak to their suppliers regarding the supplier’s plans for authorisation.